Skip to content

It Runs in the Family

September 4, 2006

Yesterday Kevin, Jocie, Livie and I headed to Indiana to visit my parents. This morning all of us, including my parents, played a game of Aggravation.

pic94779_t.jpg

At family gatherings, I have heard Kevin and other spouses who are married to my family members talk about The Smith Gene. (This is a not so subtle code phrase for my spouse is an extremely competitive game player) Well, I got to see The Smith Gene in action today! As we began the game, at first it wasn’t apparent. Then Livie rolled the dice and had two options:

  1. move her first marble ahead
  2. move her second marble and send her daddy’s marble back to base

With a grin from ear to ear, she chose option #2. Kevin looked at me like “See? She’s got the gene too!“. I smiled back and thought to myself “That’s my girl!” My parents and Jocie cheered Livie on and the game continued. Time and time again I saw instances of competitiveness from both girls, myself and my parents. Kevin, being the good sport he is endured all of us and even sent a few of us back to base at times. Livie ended up winning the game, but I suspect that only happened because she had 3 adults strategizing for her! All of us experienced laughter and smiles as we played the game.

Seeing The Smith Gene in action, I have drawn several conclusions:

  • competitiveness can be fun, even for those who tend not to be competitive
  • wanting to win is something all of us desire, even for those who don’t classify themselves as competitive
  • how we handle not winning reveals a whole lot about our character – everyone cheered for Livie, even big sis Jocie
  • The Smith Gene isn’t really a gene, after all my mom married into the family and she seems to have The Smith Gene
  • we are going to need to get Aggravation for our home – our girls loved it
2 Comments leave one →
  1. mrmike permalink
    September 5, 2006 9:28 pm

    Sounds like a blast.

    Also I enjoyed reading your post, I think I learned a thing or two.

  2. September 7, 2006 1:20 am

    Thanks Mike.

Leave a Reply

