Skip to content

Oops!

September 16, 2006

I was enjoying a family moment with my daughter Olivia earlier this evening and had an “oops”. One of those what was I thinking?moments.

Both of our girls love to ride their bikes around the loop in our subdivision. Jocie has mastered riding a bike with no training wheels and Olivia has mastered (sort of) riding a bike with training wheels. The loop is fairly large – especially when you are riding a small bike – so Kevin and I will put on our rollerblades and go with the girls. Jocie has fewer wheels and bigger wheels so she rides faster than Olivia. So Kevin goes with one and I go with the other.

Tonight I was with Olivia. We are meandering down the street at a pace one can only achieve with a small bike with even smaller training wheels. We had been talking, but at that moment she was pedaling and my mind had wandered off thinking about an arrangement of a song. All of a sudden it dawned on me that I hadn’t been listening for cars. I looked back and there was a vehicle following several yards behind us – waiting patiently I might add.

I tell Olivia to move over to the gravel at the side of the road and I oh-so-carefully come to a stop. (Notice how I didn’t mention earlier that I have mastered my rollerblades?) I see Olivia has made it to the gravel. I turn so I can wave at our soon-to-be new neighbors and mouth the words “I’m sorry” as they drive by. At least that was my plan.

What I didn’t take into consideration was that in her haste to get away from the car, Olivia didn’t stop at the side of the road. She continued on into the grass and down into a small ditch. Somewhere on the way to the ditch, she lost her balance. I turn her way just in time to see the slow motion toppling that only child on a bike with training wheels can do.

My mother instinct finally kicked in (can’t tell you where it was a few minutes prior to that) and I fought the urge to tear off my roller blades and rescue my little girl. Logic told me that if I attempted to removed the objects that were fastened to my feet, I would be toppling over in a way that only a slightly coordinated adult on roller blades can do. Instead I found a way to go down the ditch by side stepping with my rollerblades. I help Olivia get up and we climb back to the road (all 5 steps that it took) and resume our bike ride & rollerblading.

No bumps or bruises on Olivia, just some lovely grass-stained pants. Did I mention that I do laundry just about as well as I roller blade? I’ll have to save that for another post!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. mrmike permalink
    September 16, 2006 4:04 pm

    Sounds like you had an adventure of a day.

  2. September 19, 2006 2:25 pm

    Hey Laura, how come Mike and I aren’t on your blog list? That’s not fair, 🙂 I’ll cya later!

  3. September 22, 2006 5:07 pm

    Alright, you both have been added! You do realize that this is still pretty foreign to me, right?

  4. September 24, 2006 10:12 pm

    Yeah, but your Laura Berry! You can do anything!! 🙂 Great Job this Sunday! You all ROCKED IT OUT!!!!!

Leave a Reply

