Skip to content

Snowflakes – a play by play story

October 12, 2006

Last night Jocie was so excited at the possibility of snow. This morning the first thing she did after getting out of bed was to peek around her blinds to see if there was any snow outside. Nothing. She handled her disappointment well.
30 minutes later, I noticed small snowflakes whirling outside. I called it to the girls’ attention. Fast forward another 30 minutes and I hear shrieks and laughter. Jocie and Livie are out in our driveway faces up toward the sky, enjoying the snowflakes hitting their face. It was fun to watch their excitement, but I have to tell you – the snowflakes were teeny tiny.
10 minutes later, we are in the car on our way to school. Suddenly the air in front of us is filled with big snowflakes – impressive snowflakes. You should have heard the “oohs” in my car. We pull onto the drive at Jocie’s school and park. (At Jocie’s elementary school, students line up by class outside the entrance their class uses.) I can see two lines of 1st and 2nd graders bouncing up and down with excitement. I walk with Jocie as she gets ready to line up. I could feel the students’ excitement fueled by the appearance of big, fat snowflakes.
Now I can’t say I was all that thrilled to hear about the possibility of snow today. But then watching my girls reactions and seeing those big snowflakes, I found myself filled with awe and wonder. Those snowflakes drew my attention to God and the wonder of His creation. God crafted each one of those snowflakes, no two are alike. So I have been moved from tolerating the cold today to thanking God for the cold weather! This cold spell was my latest experience that revealed and reminded me of the awe and wonder of God’s creation!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. mrmike permalink
    October 12, 2006 10:08 pm

    “impressive snowflakes”

    I can’t wait till I have kids.

    Ha Ha.

  2. October 19, 2006 2:34 pm

    when ya going to the cool side,and get a my space page?

  3. October 19, 2006 11:47 pm

    The cool side – can’t say I considered it until reading your comment. It took a long time for me to venture into the blogging world (and I’m not a very frequent blogger)! Hmmm . . .

Leave a comment