Skip to content

Risk

January 25, 2008

As this post comes out of hibernation, here’s what’s on my mind.

Yesterday I receive an email from an airline offering $8 fares. My brother and his family live in Florida. We only get to see them a couple times a year, so I specifically looked to see what dates the $8 fares are being offered to airports in Florida. Selecting departure and return dates, I found myself with the opportunity to purchase 4 plane tickets @ $8 each way. (With taxes and fees, our family would be flying for less than $150.)

So I call Kevin to see what he thinks. He says to get the tickets. Then I call my sister-in-law to see if they are going to be around the week we are coming. They are. As I’m talking to her, Kevin calls me. He wants to check with his supervisor to make sure he’s okay to take the vacation time. We hang up and I wait. Less than a minute later, Kevin calls and says to go ahead and purchase the tickets. All I have left to do is click my mouse –

CLICK.

A few seconds go by, then I’m told the seats I want to purchase are no longer available. All of this transpired in less than 10 minutes.

I had an awesome opportunity right at my fingertips had I acted upon it.

What stopped me?

Risk.

  • I wasn’t willing to risk hurting or upsetting Kevin by making a decision on my own that would impact our whole family.
  • I wasn’t willing to risk losing $150 if my brother’s family wasn’t going to be around.

I can’t help but think about other opportunities I encounter in life. As a Christ follower, am I making the most of every opportunity? Or am I too concerned about the risk or cost?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Doug Winters permalink
    January 25, 2008 11:52 am

    So I took a risk a couple of weeks ago; jumped an impulse and entered a raffle for tickets to the MSU/Iowa basketball game. I about fell over when FedEx shows up that Friday with 4 tickets. I won! Great seats too. Then I looked more closely. The tickets were for an away game…all the way over in Iowa that next day. Couldn’t even sell them. Yeah, we watched it on TV.

  2. Your mom permalink
    January 25, 2008 8:58 pm

    Those tickets probably would not have been available no matter when you “clicked”, my dear daughter. You probably were offered other tickets at a higher price. It’s called “bait and switch”. Love ya, Mom

  3. January 26, 2008 11:58 pm

    You’re also taking a risk by putting your experience on a blog. Who know’s what idiot might comment!! Not that the two previous posters are idiots…I’m most likely referring to myself, or those persons like myself, that my randomly post random thoughts, just because they can. Welcome back!

Leave a Reply

