Skip to content

Geography Lesson

May 22, 2008

Yesterday I was having a quick breakfast with my family before leaving them to head here. We were talking about Washington DC and Livie, our 5 year old, asked Kevin and me:

When we go to Washington DC, can we go see the Statue of Liberty?

Trying not to laugh out loud so as not to offend Livie, we told her that in order to see the Statue of Liberty we would need to go to NYC. Two things I noted about this conversation.

1. Kevin and I had made no mention of traveling as a family to Washington DC. Does this mean in Livie’s world, if Mom’s headed somewhere, then the whole family must be going back there sometime soon?

2. Livie is a lot more aware of the world around her than I recall being at the age of 5.

After breakfast, I joined 6 others from Crossroads, hopped in a van and spent the day traveling to Reston, Virginia. (Doug was an awesome chauffeur. Thanks Doug! )

You can check out Pete or Shari’s blog for a recap of yesterday’s traveling events.

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 3, 2009 3:54 am

    Is this image of the Statue of Liberty yours? If so, I’d like to use it for a graphic design class I’m taking in San Diego,CA. This would never be sold and is not for profit, just really like the image and want to make a poster out of it for a class project. If it’s okay with you I’ll send you a copy of finished design and post on my website. If it is not your image would you let me know where you got it so I can get permission to use it. Thank you so much,
    Margo

Leave a Reply

