Skip to content

Hide-or-seek

June 18, 2008

This is my dog Daisy.

She likes to play hide-or-seek. Seriously!

I don’t know if you’ve ever tried to play hide-or-seek with a dog, but there are a few rules one has to follow when playing hide or seek with Daisy.

1. Daisy determines who gets to play.

Although there are 4 humans in our home, Daisy only plays hide-or-seek with me. We’ve tried to get her to play it with Kevin or the girls, but I’m the one she seeks.

2. Daisy will always be the seeker.

Daisy is too determined to be around me to go hide. I throw her ball downstairs and while she runs to get it, I go and hide.

3. Daisy cheats.

Actually, the dog has an unfair advantage – her sense of smell. That limits my hiding places. The only places in my house that work are my bathroom and my closet. I think it’s because those places have too much of my scent. Daisy can’t sort out the ‘new Laura’ scent from the ‘old Laura’ scent.

4. Daisy won’t quit.

Daisy has never ended the game. She will run around the house, whine and whimper until she finds me. When she does, if I throw the ball downstairs and go hide again, she will look for me again.

Those are the rules for playing hide-n-seek with my dog.

I think how people live is comparable to a state of hide-or-seek.

1. Hide, Hiding, Hidden

In this state of being, I try and hide some part of me that I’ve been too scared, ashamed, stubborn or prideful to let God (or anyone else) see. I will spend an extraordinary amount of time and effort attempting to set up the game with my rules and specifications.

Thankfully, God doesn’t let me play by my rules

The Lord looks down from heaven; he sees all the children of man; from where he sits enthroned, he looks out on all the inhabitants of the earth, he who fashions the hearts of them all and observes all of their deeds.

Psalm 33:13-15 (ESV)

God, your God, will cut away the thick calluses on your heart and your children’s hearts, freeing you to love God, your God, with your whole heart and soul and live, really live.

Deuteronomy 30:62

2. Seek, Seeking, Sought

When I’m seeking, I’ve got my eyes on Jesus. My time, my energy is focused on following Jesus. In this state of being is where life can really be lived.

Whoever has my commands and obeys them, he is the one who loves me. He who loves me will be loved by my Father, and I too will love him and show myself to him.”

Jesus replied, “If anyone loves me, he will obey my teaching. My Father will love him, and we will come to him and make our home with him.

John 14:21,23

Hiding or seeking – which state of being are you in right now?

One Comment leave one →
  1. June 18, 2008 3:53 am

    Daisy’s game plan is awesome! She can’t ever lose if she plays according to her rules.

    Don’t tell Daisy, but I can share Cameo’s trick with you – Hide a juicy chicken leg somewhere then hide in a different place. Daisy won’t even try to find you:) until she’s finished with the chicken leg!

    But then, it won’t be fun…right?

    Wags,
    Oorvi

Leave a Reply

