Skip to content

Thunder in the vicinity

June 28, 2008

As I sit at my desk tonight, I can hear the rumbling of thunder, but no rain. Wondering what’s on the weather horizon, I check weather.com and this is what I see:


Thunder in the vicinity. Sounds like a warning doesn’t it?

We have all sorts of warning signs in our lives don’t we? Some catch our attention, while others get ignored or disregarded.

Why would I ignore a warning? I may find the warning obvious or I am confident in my ability to deal with the situation or perhaps I think the risk is worth it in order to get what I’m after or get to where I’m going.

Here is what I am realizing about warning signs. If I find a warning sign (or a person’s warning) unimportant or bothersome, I have a ‘me’ problem. Me-problem, as in I’m thinking too much of myself. That is pride and it’s ugly.

As the thunder rumbles overhead, tonight I find I have a greater appreciation for the warning signs in my life.

God’s Word is better than a diamond,
better than a diamond set between emeralds.
You’ll like it better than strawberries in spring,
better than red, ripe strawberries.

There’s more: God’s Word warns us of danger
and directs us to hidden treasure.
Otherwise how will we find our way?
Or know when we play the fool?
Psalm 19:10&11 (MSG)

I don’t want to play a fool, how about you?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

