Skip to content

Pause moment

July 1, 2008
tags: ,

I had a pause moment the other day.

Pause moments are those times when something/someone causes me to stop what I’m doing and encounter whatever the moment has brought with it. Maybe you call it by another name – perhaps a name that is better suited for these kind of moments in life.

When a pause moment approaches, it doesn’t give a warning. It arrives uninvited and unannounced. I can choose to welcome it or let it slip by.

Pause moments are deceptive – fairly brief, taking no more than a few minutes to occur. What happens afterwards can take a long time. Time in which a person sorts, processes, analyzes, argues, speculates, tests or does whatever people do when trying out a new realization.

When I stop to encounter a pause moment, then spend time afterwards with what I encountered, what I discover affects my soul.

I encountered a pause moment the other day. Dressed up as a seemingly ordinary event, this pause moment arrived and stopped me in my tracks. I had a choice to welcome the moment or let it slip by.

I chose to welcome the moment.

I’m glad I did.

When is the last time you had a moment like this?

Did you welcome it or let it slip by?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

