Skip to content

3 families under one roof.

July 9, 2008
tags:

We are visiting with my parents, my brother and his family this week. That makes 11 of us in my parents’ home. I have three nieces so with my daughters, that makes 5 girls ages 8 and younger. Needless to say, we have lots of giggles in this house.

The past couple days have been a whirlwind. Yesterday we met more family went to the Fort Wayne Children’s Zoo. That brought our girl count up to seven girls, 8 and younger (and one boy who is middle school aged). It was very interesting to watch how the girls paired and/or grouped up. Nothing dramatic or exclusionary, just interesting.

One of the coolest things of the day (besides hanging out with family) was seeing a red panda. Actually, the head of a red panda. He was peering out a hole in a tree stump and looked like he was posing. He looked out at us for several minutes. Then right as Kevin went to take a picture, the red panda ducked back into the stump and remained there. A missed kodak moment.

Today we left in the morning and drove to Shipshewana to check out WanaWaves – an indoor water park.

1,176.

That’s the minimum # of stair steps I walked up today in order to go down the dual vortex slides. There are 56 stair steps up to the slide. I know this because after my 8th consecutive trip up the stairs, I decided to count because my niece Alaina and Jocie and Livie didn’t seem like they wanted to quit anytime soon.  I went up at least 21 times, but I lost track so I can’t give an exact number.

Highlights of the day:

  • seeing a horse drawn wagon with truck seats as the bench
  • racing Kevin down the dual slides and winning (all three times). He’ll tell you I had help, but don’t listen. 🙂
  • listening and watching the girls explore the water park and seeing how much fun they were having
  • watching Jocie and Livie both conquer their fears of the big water slides and wanting to go down again and again and again and again
  • my 40 minute nap on the ride home

There are a ton more memories and highlights from this week so far, but I think the effects of my nap earlier today have worn off and I am ready to go to sleep.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

