Skip to content

Thinking about . . .

November 15, 2008
For The Institute of Contemporary and Emerging Worship Studies, St. Stephens University, Essentials Red Online Worship History Course with Dan Wilt.

I love the rhythms and patterns of life.

When they are predictable. When they change. When they are quiet or when they seem to drown out everything else.

Sometimes, I get so caught up in figuring out and living the rhythms and patterns of life, I forget the One who created them and created me.

When we think we can do things on our own, we act as though we have little or no need of God. Then we become self-confident, begin to believe in ourselves and think ourselves to be invincible.¹

I become a super hero in my own eyes.

Super Laura?

Super Laura?

Super Laura?

When it’s put that way, it seems rather foolish.

Yet, that’s how I live at times – a super hero- one who can handle life on my own.

I continue through life as though I have it all together…

…yet I don’t.

Perhaps this recognition of my alter-ego is why I’m drawn to the concept of daily public prayer.

Daily public prayer has a different and more personal focus; our response to God in the midst of daily life.²

Daily

This can take on several forms, but usually a set time (or times) each day. It gives us opportunities to recognize, praise and thank God right in the day-to-day activities of life.

Public

Certainly we can (and should) pray on our own, but there are some components of public prayer that insure that my alter-ego doesn’t take hold.

  • When I pray with others, I learn from them
  • Praying with others keeps me humble
  • As I hear the prayers of others, my focus turns back to Him

Prayer

Time spent talking with God. Petitioning Him, thanking Him, confessing to Him, listening to Him.

Daily public prayer is new territory for me. I think there is much to learn from those who followed Christ long before us as I explore this discipline.

In the meantime, what shall I do when Super Laura appears?

God, in his mercifulness, always finds a way to break the spell of ‘Super Laura’ and as He breaks down my self-inflated walls, I gratefully collapse into His arms.

It’s not easy being a super hero-

but then again, God never asked me to be.

¹Robert E. Webber, Ancient-Future Time (Grand Rapids: Baker Books, 2004), 38.

²James White, Introduction to Christian Worship (Nashville: Abingdon Press, 2000),
     146-147.
Leave a Reply

